Makeover

In case people were wondering, this IS the blog formerly known as ONE-EYED… I realize that ONE-EYED became a  forum for monoculars and engineering, and I hope it will continue to be so. I was in need of a new look for a new year. Instead of the glass-is-half-empty-perspective, with “one” in the title and a dismal black background I thought evolution was in order. The new title refers to, did you guess it?: “I, Robot.” New URL: eyetanya.com. I hope you like it — tell me what you think.

And more updates to come: Hint Lead Engineer! Collaboration with prominent New Media / Interactive Artist in New York later this year!

5 thoughts on “Makeover

  1. I’m sure you never thought there could be a facebook group for one eyed Tanya’s, but here we are! We’ll have to set bylaws and decide about if we’ll let in those fake “Tonya” types.

    A friend of mine forwarded me your Washington Post article, and I almost stopped reading on page 2 here: “I don’t want to be disabled. I don’t want to be monocular. I don’t want bump into things, I don’t want handicap placards. I don’t want to feel like a loser, like I need to be coddled, or pity.”

    I never had sight in my natural eye, but lost it altogether at age 19. It took me a while to remember where you are now. I went through the bionic eye thing, (what you have in the internet, I had in 19 year old geeky boys shortly after Terminator movies…UGH!!) I didn’t want people feeling sorry for me, I was in the cut year of the industrial design (3D) program at Carnegie Mellon, I certainly didn’t need any pity, and I didn’t need to be called disabled.

    Like

  2. Continued…So while I can associate with a lot of what you’re going through, I must point out that all those things are in your head. Don’t want to be disabled? Don’t be. You ARE monocular, no one can really help you with that, but I’m sure that loss can be offset by our cool new one eyed Tanya group. You’ll learn monocular depth perception, and I can even teach you how to cheat on the driving vision test so you won’t even have a restricted license (my personal pet peeve).

    It is what you make of it. You can choose to feel sorry for yourself, or you can count yourself lucky that no one in your kindergarten class called you Cyclops, and you didn’t have to deal with your loss as a 19 year old in pre-internet world, not that I would change the experiences that made me who I am.

    And you can hope that maybe this will be your lucky eye ( I met my husband 10 days after I got mine, and I never would have without it…but that’s another story!) It sounds like this experience has changed your life and influenced your work, you can’t take it back, but you can make it positive.

    It wasn’t all wonderful. Allow me to say in front of all the techies here that for a place to lose your eye, Carnegie Mellon SUCKED and much of my department personified the worst of my experience. But all in all, my eye experiences added so much more than they took away from my life so far.

    Glad to see the more positive spin in your blog, and I’d love to hear from you. I’m a interior designer/mural painter/entrepreneur see http://www.SimplyforGiggles.com. Your loss, in my experience, will only limit you in ways you allow it to. Good luck, and let me know when you get that fb group set up. I’m all in.

    Like

  3. salve le ho scritto ieri e oggi visto la risposta di invio del mio messaggio al suo sito ma nel leggere devo aver cliccato per errore su alcuni tasti senza aver capito cosa ho fatto,avrei piacere di ricevere sue notizie per quanto le avevo inviato e le informazioni a riguardo;le auguro tanta fortuna! e…ci vediamo!!! Marco Petrelli,Roma ITALIA.

    Like

  4. Hi Tanya, I just found your blog and read the Washington Post article … just shows how really loosing an eye or any other life changing event is a question of perspective .. I lost mine when I was 3 years old – I don’t remember what it is like to see with both eyes and maybe that’s why I would not want a bionic eye .. I don’t feel disabled, I live a full life with many great friends, a great job, a wonderful husband and soon children of my own – all that two-eyed people can have and achieve I have.
    I do bump into poles at times, but that just makes for a great laugh :o) I am accepted just the way I am and never wanted to be anyone else. I am now 34 and 3 years ago I also lost one of my boobs to breast cancer. While it was another terrible experience, adding another fake body part, now years later despite of all events in my life I still feel whole – not handicapped by any means or a loser, a success story of conquering adversity with chin up and strenght. Overcoming life’s challenges makes you stronger, teaches you appreciate the value of life and to look at what you have and not what you’ve lost! I hope you also overcome – whether it’s with the bionic eye or without.

    Best of luck!

    .0)

    Like

  5. Tanya and Munequita! Nice to hear from you and thank you for your encouragement. I am quite a different person now then from the journal entries that the Washington Post used, they were from 2 or 3 months after the accident and I was in recovery mode not working and living at home. Also having a minor brain injury and some PTSD from the accident made me feel confused and lost. That has been the biggest challenge for me: going back to work has been a difficulty. As far as the eye, I adjusted pretty quickly to the monocular life – now just exploring identity and what’s possible. I feel pretty whole and just imagining that I could transform my loss into something visionary (no pun intended) … has made all the difference. Those entries that I wrote were in a way a response to the pity I received. It’s been quite an adventure. Thanks for listening and I enjoy everyone’s stories so much!!!

    One-eyed ladies rock!!!

    My only question is patch or no patch?

    Like

Leave a Reply

